Please activate JavaScript!
Please install Adobe Flash Player, click here for download


2 Changes afoot in the West Wing Following seven years of construction, the west wing of the Federal Palace was inaugurated as the Federal State House in 1857. The building was home to the Federal Chancellor (literally, as he also resided there), the seven Federal Councillors, the 44 members of the Council of States, 111 National Councillors and 81 federal government officials. Today, the newly renovated building is the seat of the Federal Chancellery, the Federal Depart- ment of Foreign Affairs (FDFA) and the Federal Department of Justice and Police (FDJP). The west wing of the Federal Palace also houses the Federal Council chamber.